Day 33

It’s been awhile. I’m hanging my head in shame and cringing just a bit. Seems I’ve been doing everything but writing since I last posted. And I have. I won’t even bore you with a laundry list of errands, road trips and family calamities. Let’s just say I’ve fallen off the writing wagon and I’m anxious to climb back on. What better way to mark this first day of September than to update you on my goings on?

I opened up Garden Variety, my second novel, and read it from the beginning to bring myself up to speed. I can honestly say I really do like this story and my absence has not dimmed my interest in it. I’ll be picking up from where I left off, but today I had another project that was front and center.

Avon Books is holding a novella writing contest to be judged by none other than one of my all time favorite writers (and people) Debbie Macomber. As soon as I read the announcement I knew I had to give it a shot. Barely versed in novel writing, I know this will be quite an undertaking for me.

As I was writing this morning I already found myself jotting down notes to ask my good friend Larissa Lyons, who has written many novellas. Larissa is every writer’s dream friend. Her Texas accent is endearing and she’s loads of fun to talk to on the phone. Best of all, she’s a fountain of knowledge who is willing to share her expertise and experience in this tough publishing business. To learn more about Larissa and her novels (Regency and Erotic Romance) you can pay her a visit at http://larissalyons.com/ and please do tell her I sent you.

Getting back to the contest, I came up with a fun idea that just seemed to sit right. After lots of starts and stops, I’m about 2k in on a story that cannot exceed 25K. Being a writer who is often ‘long winded’ this will be quite a challenge.

Now it’s time to get back to work and see if I can’t log in a couple hundred more words. But if you have any advice to share on how you tackle short writing projects like novellas, I would love to hear from you!

Happy September!

Chris

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Day 33

  1. Larissa Lyons

    Hi Chris — what sweet things you said! Thank you. 🙂 I’m glad I’ve been able to help. Best of luck on the Avon novella contest. I hope you do great — now get writing!

  2. You’re welcome! And every word of it is true. I hope this post will encourage other aspiring writers to seek out writers like yourself who are knowledgeable and willing to help them on their journey! And with that said I’ll get back to writing 😀

  3. Glad to see you’re still going strong! If I wrote a blog like this from start to publishing contract I’d be on day 1290! Whether you reach your goal, or if it takes longer, keep plugging away. It will happen if you don’t give up!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Gina! Yes, I’m still going strong though you can see the frequency of my updates has changed. Though a few bumps have surfaced on the road, I’m
      still traveling full speed ahead to my goal of publication. And if it takes to day 1290 or beyond I will get there. I’ve learned long ago that you get nowhere at all
      when you give up. Hope you’ll stop by again soon!

  4. Good luck with getting that novella ready for submission to the Avon contest – just keep at it!

  5. Thanks Deb! I’m at 13K now and at this rate should have my novella completed and ready to edit by Tuesday. After I polish it to a shine I’ll submit it (probably a day a so before the 30th) and off it goes! What attracted me to the contest was the fact that Debbie Macomber will choose the grand prize winner. Being a big fan of hers has been a great motivator! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

