Day 21

I should have been writing. I think I’ve mentioned in the past how I dread Mondays. It’s a leftover mindset from childhood that I really need to shake. But until then, I have a tough time getting to work on Mondays. I’m sure I’m in good company LOL.

What did I do today instead of hitting the keyboard? I went to my local Borders.  I asked my daughter if she’d like to come along. The poor girl has gotten my bookaholic gene I’m afraid. She couldn’t get in that car fast enough!

We were looking forward to 50% off sales only to be somewhat disappointed that most books were only being reduced between 10-30% at this time. I have no doubt that as closing time gets nearer those numbers will be closer to 50%. Regardless, we spent hours browsing the aisles. It’s amazing how much inventory has already been snatched so far. Many once bulging shelves now look skeletal as they hold on to their limited selections. The only books I could seem to find that offered the largest discount, 30%, were the paperback romance. I suspect this might be because romance is one of the most widely read genres out there and they need to move their inventory. But even with only a 10% discount, the books my daughter searched for on filmmaking were slim pickens.

The irony of the day was that after I got to the store, I realized that my list of ‘books I want to read’ was at home on my desk. It put somewhat of a damper on my shopping spree but, being a book lover, I managed to ‘make do’.

To Borders I must say I’m sorry to see you go. It’s a sign of the times and as a writer, I believe it’s never a good thing to lose an outlet for one’s work. To the employees I can only wish you much luck in your endeavors to replace your livelihood.

Now it’s after 5pm, and I’m sitting here drooling over my day’s finds. But I’m going to have to suck it up because when you play, you pay. I just hate to put a big fat zero on my calendar so I’m going to get to work on that word count.

Tomorrow I’ll let you know how it goes!

Chris

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 21

  1. Hey girlfriend. Get that BIC and get to writing.

Leave a Reply

