Day 12

Saturday stacks! After a productive and very busy week, I just couldn’t seem to get down to business. Several early morning errands through me off, and so by the time I got home I truly felt like I had run out of gas. So I’m doing my second favorite thing after writing: reading!

What are Saturday stacks? It’s simply the stack of books on my desk, night table, end table and other assorted places that I’ve been meaning to start, continue or finish. What’s on today’s reading menu?

To start reading:  A Turn in the Road by Debbie Macomber, The Sweetest Thing by Jill Shalvis,Summer at Seaside Cove by Jacquie D’Alessandro, Witches of East End by Melissa de la cruz, Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah.

To finish reading: The Island by Elin Hilderbrand, Home Sweet Home by Kim Watters, The Breakout Novelist by Donald Maass (my dream agent), Revision & Self Editing by James Scott Bell, Moving On by Sarah Ban Breathnach.

To continue reading: These are books that I started and then abandoned and right now it’s only one, Suze Orman’s Women & Money.

Well, that’s quite an interesting mix if I don’t say so myself. Some women’s fiction, writing instruction, self help/self improvement and personal finance. I don’t know how many of those books I’ll complete in one day. I’ve been known to marathon read in the past though.

Having stacks of books surrounding me is nothing new. For me it’s the norm, dating back to my junior high school days when I often spent hot, cold and every day in between wedged between stacks of books. What I got out of those books all those years ago, I continue to look for today: an escape from the mundane or stressful every day life, an adventure and the chance to come away enlightened whether it be about money, writing or myself.

Do you have a stack of books waiting to be read? What are the ingredients of your special mix? Off to read now, but I hope to hear from you! Who knows? Maybe you’ll point me in the direction of a book I would never have thought of reading!

Chris

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 12

  1. Larissa Lyons

    I know exactly what you mean about stacks of books. I have several and they are remarkably similar to yours–once to read, ones being read, & ones I’m debating whether or not to finish. (Although usually if I’we reached the debate point, I already have my answer.)

    What do you think of the Revision & Self Editing by Bell? I’ve thought about getting that one a time or two…

Leave a Reply

