Day 8

Even the best laid plans can go awry, and today they did just that. I had planned to add new words, actually finish a chapter, to Garden Variety. I had planned to get another chapter edited on Bethel Christmas Visitor. I had even stretched myself (at least in my mind) and planned to draft up the next post for my other blog, http://faithhopeandinspiration.blogspot.com/.

So what do I have to report to you today? Nothing. Zip. Nada. All I have to offer is my complete honesty. I did not make it to my desk. Oh, I did pop in on Twitter and tweet back to a few of the authors I follow. I did check in on e-mail, just in case a few replies came in from editors I’m waiting on. But that’s it. Not one new word, not one page edited and not even a paragraph drafted for the next blog post I had planned on. Feel free to throw tomatoes, eggs (ouch) and whatever you just happen to have lying around on your desk.

I won’t even waste your time and mine blaming the weather (triple digits!), the cats, a trip to the grocery store, dropping my son back and forth at the train, running my daughter to her library activity. I won’t because I know there are many prolific writers out there that would have gotten words on the page despite all these little time drains. I have one writer friend who calls her sprints of writing ‘bites’. She might take a small ‘bite’ in the morning, write 500 words and then take care of a family matter. She will often come back to her desk for an afternoon ‘bite’ and even a late day/evening ‘bite’. These little bites, like change in your pocket, often add up to a nice ‘chunk of change’ by day’s end. I thought of her today. Could I have managed some ‘bites’ myself, regardless of life’s little irritations?

Yes, I probably could have brought a notebook along in the car, jotting as I waited at the train, the library and the countless other errands I had to run. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it.

At this point I can learn from my mistake. I will keep a notebook in my car for those days (and there are more than I would like) when it seems I’m being pulled in too many directions. And I’ll remember that the only way to eat an elephant, or in my case write a novel, is to take lots of small bites.

So when life’s little annoyances and interruptions throw you off, how do you manage to keep on writing? I’m going to need all the help I can get if I plan to go the distance…and with it only being Day 8 I’ve got a long way to go!

Chris

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Day 8

  1. Larissa Lyons

    Hi Chris – It’s been a weird day for me too. Zilch on word count 😦 but I love what you shared about “bites” and I wholeheartedly recommend always keeping a spiral notebook with you, no matter where you are. I have pulled over on the side of the road when inspiration struck.

  2. Don’t be too hard on yourself! You’ll stumble upon your own routine before you know it and then you’ll be ON FIRE! 🙂

    • Thanks, Debora! I think I’m beginning to see the beginnings of a routine now. Seems I get much more done if I start writing first thing in the morning. By the end of the day it seems like too many things need my attention to get creative. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Hey Larissa, I know exactly how you feel. I’m glad you like the ‘bites’ idea. A writer friend from an online group kindly shared that with me, and I never forgot her words. I just switched from a small handbag to a large tote bag just so I could keep a notebook with me. Of course now I’m carrying everything with me – kitchen sink included LOL.
    I’ve had that happen – a stroke of inspiration while driving. Fortunately for me hubby was behind the wheel and I could get busy writing it down right away 😀
    Hang in there! More productive days are ahead for us both!

  4. Oh Chris, I’ve been trying to figure this one out for the last SIX years since I started writing seriously and pursuing publication. My entire blog is devoted to this topic, in fact interviewed over 100 writing moms to come up with an answer to life’s interruptions and I still haven’t figured it out. Best solution is to go with the flow!!

    • Wow! Over 100 writing moms! That’s incredible! I don’t know if I know that many LOL. I think you’re right though. The more I work at it the more I see that sometimes, whether I like it or not, I have to go with the flow! Good days I’m getting the words down and the not so good days I’m scribbling a little, reading a little and running around as life dictates!

Leave a Reply

